How To Avoid Shorter Opening Hours In South Derbyshire!

Brookfield 19.12.17  (16).jpg

Opening hours for punters are always a problem but I may have found the answer to having an afternoon drink in South Derbyshire.

Fellow members of the PUB (Pub Union of Bloggers…I intend to get a membership form drawn up soon enough) Martin, Duncan and Si are often driven to distraction after their lengthy quests to reach the holy grail of a GBG pub are met with ‘quirky’ opening hours making it nigh on impossible to visit.

The answer is to inadvertently gatecrash a wake!  That’s not strictly true as I had no idea what the opening hours were for 130 – The Brookfield  DE73 7HG in the village of Barrow on Trent;

Brookfield 19.12.17 (15)

I was hunting for a post box with my kids after a trip to the ever expanding Swarkestone Nursery Centre, which is (un)officially “South Derbyshire’s No1 retail plant nursery” according to their website…clearly beating off tough competition from Staunton Harold and Bretby but it’s a cut-throat world in the garden centre business!

Never let it be said I pass up the opportunity of a pint whilst on holiday or out shopping and, as this was during the Christmas break, then the opportunity for a pint in a boozer was too good to miss!

However, I subsequently discovered that this solid two roomed boozer with a pool table and Derby County memorabilia everywhere usually opens at 4pm in the week but it looked as though the lights were on and the doors were open just after 1pm.

Brookfield 19.12.17  (13).jpg

It was open and the boozer was full, as I had walked into a wake of one of the regulars so there was a sombre mood that was warming up and it was noticeable that nearly every punter was sinking Pedigree (Marston’s).  https://twitter.com/oldmudgie wrote a really good post recently about the perils of ignoring pubs with  just one ale on as that is reflective of more local boozers than pubs with ten or eleven ‘wickets’ behind the bar. http://pubcurmudgeon.blogspot.co.uk/2017/11/meanwhile-back-in-real-world.html.

https://twitter.com/NHS_Martin also waxed lyrical on his very readable blog about a recent visit to The Woodlark in Derby with locals drinking Pedigree and being perfectly happy at the choice as quality trumps quantity every time https://retiredmartin.com/2018/01/10/derby-provides-real-choice/ 

This is the only drinking option in the centre of this growing village and whilst its signage makes it a slightly different looking boozer from the norm externally it has the feel of a well-used local inside.

Brookfield 19.12.17 (3)

(What year did Derby have a Marston’s shirt sponsor? )

A pool table, sky sports, framed football shirts and a community noticeboard all added to the mix and whilst it did feel a little bit like we were intruding, everyone seemed too preoccupied to be concerned about me and my kids in the corner.

As mentioned before, the wall was adorned with football memorabilia and one here for Lord Sugar and Karen to get excited about…

Brookfield 19.12.17 (1)

…whilst a Roy Keane number showed this pub is definitely not one for the prawn sandwich brigade…

Brookfield 19.12.17  (6).jpg

A good local pub with good beer on and it looks as though it is the sort of place that knows its market and plays to that audience.

https://twitter.com/BoakandBailey have written some well debated posts on the death of the backstreet boozer and it is undeniably true but this definitely has the criteria for a backstreet boozer as its tucked away between lots of houses and you wouldn’t reach it if you were driving on the main road.

Martin also mentioned recently that Derby is almost unique in being so well stocked with ‘proper’ backstreet pubs serving ale …you can add this one to that list and I fully intend to go in different circumstances next time!

6 thoughts on “How To Avoid Shorter Opening Hours In South Derbyshire!

  1. Sigh, I’d dearly love to have a local backstreet boozer nearby*. Derby (and the surrounding ‘Shire’ – heh) certainly sounds like a good place to find those. 🙂

    I’ve just finished a grueling two days in assisting my better half with her business. She has a lunch truck that runs Mon-Fri as well as doing catering on the side. For the last two days she’s been catering lunch for 80 plus (salmon yesterday, prime rib today) so I’ve been manning the lunch truck, as well as getting all of the dishes cleaned and ready for the second day’s lunch of 80 plus. I’m now home, having a beer (LOL), awaiting her call to come help clean up after the final lunch (which included morning and afternoon snacks). Having a “local” where I could, um, vent my thoughts for the past two days would be nice. Of course part of that is on me. If I went to the nearby ‘pub’ more regularly I’d maybe meet some of the regulars, if any. But, truth be told, I prefer to be at home so I can be sure my wife gets her down time when needed.

    Then again, I can visit the ‘pub’ virtually by checking out a few Brit pub bloggers. 🙂

    Apologies for the long-winded and slightly off topic reply.

    Cheers!

    * – there is a ‘pub’ (at least the word pub is in their name) about a 10 minute walk from my house, but I don’t think they have what you would call regulars. Unlike in the UK most of the people who go there drive; it’s not something those within walking distance frequent (myself included sad to say).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Forget the pub Russ this is obviously a high brow catering operation if you are serving salmon!!! Is it with champagne? 😉 I reckon you could be the man to walk with Mrs Russ to the local and she could have her down time in the lounge whilst you sit in the bar 😀

      Like

      1. LOL, thanks Ian. Forgive the ramble. Your blog was a good place to “unwind” after getting home (that’s a good thing!). 🙂

        The catering was for a bunch of salmon farm folks, I think. They actually provided the salmon! (from the Atlantic, no idea why). But no champagne, or any alcohol alas.

        And yup, agree with taking her to the local for some down time. But that will have to wait for the summer. My darling beloved has a lot on her plate (this is not unusual). Once the weather gets better my plan is to get some twice weekly walks in… that happen to go by the ‘pub’ on the final leg home. (heh)

        Cheers

        Liked by 1 person

      2. “I was pulling your leg pal”

        Apologies if it appeared to come off! (LOL)

        You ‘blogging lot’ over there are dry in the humour department (but then again, so am I)*. 🙂

        No worries on me taking offense. It’s actually nice to have places on the Net where you can chuck ‘crap’ back and forth without it resulting in fainting couches and safe spaces. (heh)

        Thanks for being a virtual ‘pub’. (thumbs up)

        Cheers!

        * – I thing dry humour is most definitely a British (descendant) thing. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment