Keeping The Punters Happy In Matlock

“A walk/climb up Bank Road to the Farmacy is well worth it on a future visit,” said Bygone Boozer in the comments section after my last post on Matlock.

Never let it be said that I don’t like to please my readership…so

  • Dave, Blues are playing against Sunderland on Saturday
  • Martin, food was consumed on this visit – an impressive chips and gravy
  • Paul WME/Duncan/Tamworth Mark, I watched some proper football for less than £13 that was better than Wolves/Reading/St. Mirren/Blues (delete accordingly)
  • Mudgie 1/The other Mudgie (AKA Stafford Paul), Cask ale was consumed on this visit
  • Paul B, no ‘Spoons were visited during the writing of the post
  • Corby Mark, Non league football was on show
  • Hermit/Sheffield Hatter, More than one pub was visited and more than beer was consumed!

And of course – I took on board Bygone Boozer’s advice and headed up what is a very steep hill known as Bank Road and headed into 866 – The Farmacy DE4 3JJ

This third trip of the Autumn/winter was to go and watch Matlock Town for the second time and there were five of us on this occasion.

It’s been open for nearly five years and is now owned by Aldwark Brewery and, I’m guessing, it is on the site of a former Pharmacy…

There was a good atmosphere in the pub as it was the Saturday between Christmas and New Year so, not packed to the rafters by any means, but welcoming.

I had a very tidy pint of home brew “Arrow” (Aldwark Artisan Ales) and chewed the fat as I warmed to the afternoon ahead.

I had, in fact, been to The Proctor Cars Stadium in October with Beermat Junior, which also took in a visit to the amusement arcades in Matlock Bath.

There had been around 800 in that day and there was a similar sized crowd in for the visit of Stafford and the one constant was they had some terrific beer on!

867 – Matlock Town FC Sports & Social Club DE4 3AR delivered two absolute pints of nectar from local brewery Bentley Brook.

March of the Gladiators (Matlock’s nickname) and Djambo Untrained were both in magnificent nick so I had to have a couple to check the quality and consistency!

The beauty of non league, of course is there is none of this transfer window nonsense and Stafford rocked up bottom of the league but with a host of new players and proceeded to win 3-1.

Sightings of Stafford Paul in the away end with a pint of Carling waving his Stafford Army Union Jack flag are, as yet, unconfirmed.  A cracking atmosphere at both games with a lot of young Matlock fans meaning their future is bright.

Nonetheless, a great ground with a fantastic view of Riber Castle and it’s close to the station/town centre so, in the perfect position.

There was still time – on one of the three visits – to check out 868 – Bod Matlock DE4 3LT.

It’s most recent guise was that of a furniture shop (I told you there aren’t any trad pubs in the middle of Matlock)

but, Titanic Brewery have done their usual top notch job into converting into a place where you can drink some of their very good beer.

Plum Porter (Titanic) was, as ever, outstanding. A quiet chilled vibe was order of the day before getting the train back to Derby and beyond.

(The male lavatory)

Matlock has some top pubs up in the hills and some great walking routes…oh yes and is definitely a football town as well so, what’s not to like?

22 thoughts on “Keeping The Punters Happy In Matlock

  1. If you got as far as the Pharmacy you might as well have pushed on to the Thorn Tree. A safer alternative viewpoint than Giddy Edge with the promise of Bass!

    Sad to hear Derby Brewery are struggling, their bar was our favourite in town on last years visit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good shout! I’ve been to the Thorn Tree and it is an absolute gem with stunning (and safer) views!
      DBC have kept on their Micros in Mickelover and Aston on Trent are still brewing I believe so fingers crossed they stay with us

      Like

  2. Do most football fans prefer watching a particular level league or is any football interesting football? The older I get the more interesting lower levels of sport are to watch.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have to confess Paul that I’ve not been on it!!! If you do stop off, and fancy a very steep walk, The Thorn Tree is the pick of the pubs (and it sells Bass) with a terrific view. 
    Failing that The Red Lion is home to Moot Ales and a ‘proper’ pub with good beer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WME makes mental note to try that bod in Matlock – I didn’t know they’d opened one there, although I have enjoyed the ones in Stone, Stoke and Newport. Well done on climbing that steep hill too, it enarly did for me when I was tracking down the Thorn Tree the other year! Cheers, Paul

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WME,

      There’s eight of them now – Stafford, Stoke railway station ( both 2018 ), Trentham, Newport ( both 2019 ), Matlock, Stone, Alsager and Streethay ( from 2022 ).

      I’ve not been in three of the newest ones.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LAF,

        No. 

        I knew Matlock well, twelve nights there from 1982 to 2007, but haven’t been getting about so much lately.

        I’ll call in if I’m going for the Batemans in the Kings Head at Bonsall

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Why the Farmacy? I think the story behind the name is quite neat.

    Back in 2017, farmer Jenny and partner Ian started converting a redundant milking parlour on the farm in Aldwark into a microbrewery. Originally just supplying to the free trade and selling bottles at local farmers markets. In 2019 they took on the building that used to house Stanley’s Ale House on Smedley Street. In the last century that building used to be Bailey’s pharmacy – and Ian is a pharmacist.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved that Beermat, great read and wow what a view at that ground. Having attended (and thoroughly enjoyed) Blues’s victory over Blackburn I decided to decline Tom’s rallying cry on Saturday in favour of Tamworth’s trip to Hereford. Had a great pre match pub crawl followed by a drab goalless affair. However while things were looking up for Blues we get some bad news. Get well soon Tony.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sounds like a grand day out!

    I can’t remember accusing you of being a one pub/one beer bloke, but I’ll take the wrap!

    I hesitate to ask, but was the game even better than watching the MIllers? If so I’m tempted to start attending some local lower league games.

    It’s ironic that an ex-furniture store pub crops up in your and my current blogs!

    No-one one seems to have commented on this yet (I wonder why)… anyway leave it to me…

    …I guess you need to be pretty accurate when usng those shoe shaped urinals?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know how I like to embellish my stories Hermit!!!! I can heartily recommend watching non league football and there will be some gems in Hampshire…although not as good as the Millers obvs!

      That is a great observation and at the risk of going down the Mick Miller/Jim Bowen/Frank Carson route – it;s harder for some of us to be accurate!

      Like

Leave a comment