#NationalBassDay & #NationalIanDay

National Bass Day is looming large on the horizon (Apr 16 to be precise)  and a big doff of my cap to Ian Thurman AKA The Wickingman who has been instrumental in setting this up.

There are a comprehensive list of boozers serving Burton’s finest export – read here – and, along with Ian Webster who is responsible for the pub crawl Burton Ale Trail they are putting Bass and Ian’s back on the map.

Personally, and I’ve got no bias on this, it’s a name that is surely due to come back into vogue and I’m fully expecting a baby boom of Ian’s to celebrate the recent work of both Thurman and Webster!

Talking of names, Shrewsbury has a uniquely monikered pub, 730 – The Cross Foxes SY3 7DE, that also happens to sell Bass.

Before Dave comments that he thought this was a pub for disgruntled Leicester City supporters I can confirm it is near to that annoying River Severn that floods a lot in Shrewsbury and this place was flooded as recently as February.

On the outskirts of the town centre, this a bona fide old skool pub for locals and Bass aficionados and having spent three days at a football festival in Shrewsbury I thought I should stop off here just in case Bass sells out on the big day.

I mean, you never know, stranger things have happened.  For example, Birmingham City scored and beat West Bromwich Albion this weekend.  That’s right, it’s not a typo but the first victory over the Baggies for fifteen years and first goal since Martin drank cask other than Doom Bar means we are safe for another season (of purgatory).

I don’t want to labour the point but I know that The Travelling Barman, Mappiman (another Ian -it really is a fashionable name), Marty and Carl occasionally read this blog so I’ll mention it again!

Anyway, back to the script and what a gem of a pub this is.  Smoke Room and Bar etched onto the front windows, a big Bass sign out the front (apparently not bought off eBay) and the place just oozes pubbery.

There’s about seven lads at the bar when I arrive and it is noticeable that everyone is perched around the bar and the humour is brutal.

The only other bloke apart from me not perched at the bar was rolling his own on a table, but he joined in when required as the pub banter was flying.

An old boy watching the racing channel was chief wind up merchant and the debate was raging as to whether it is Sh – rooo – sbury or Sh – row – sbury.  It was funny as and the barman was creased up while the air was turning blue.  The final verdict was, only people who were either pukka or from Black Country said Sh- row – sbury, and, as Paul WME knows, there are no pukka punters in Wolves so that’s two different types of pubgoers.

Shroo/Shrow biscuits, sausages, horse racing and general pub nonsense were the order of the day and a couple of lads left and another couple arrived with the banter continuing regardless.

Any pub that has a load of barflies and racing on the TV is my kind of pub.  It might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I spent half an hour chuckling away and I reckon it is like this all day every day.

The chief p*** taker kept saying “I’m not normally here on a Monday but…” and it started again…Top class banter at around 3.30 on a Monday afternoon and, as I appeared to be the only punter on Bass, it was in great nick.

Most of the lads were on lager and this is the point.  The pub is always king and the drink is secondary…however, let me be the first blogger to celebrate #NationalBassDay and #NationalIanDay with a pint of amber nectar.

21 thoughts on “#NationalBassDay & #NationalIanDay

    1. I think we could run it concurrently – could arguably be more successful!! There’s at least for of us who would have a pint of Bass and promote Ian at the same time…maybe Botham might join us?

      Like

  1. Let me stick up for the Black Country here and inform you all, we’re firmly Sh-rooo-sbury, not the other posh sounding imitation ha ha! I somehow managed to watch that dreadful game of football(?) without a single drop of beer passing my lips, I don’t know how I did it but I imagine your Bass certainly eased the torture!
    P.s. bar flies definitely consider themselves to be the headline comedian of any pub lol. And horseracing is an underrated live sport shown in pubs, happy to see more pubs screening.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Spot on! Horse racing and pubs go hand in hand as do the dogs…to be fair to this bloke at the bar he was very good value and the sort of character every pub needs. I managed to miss this one due to work commitments but I’ve not heard anyone say it was anything other than woeful!!
      You must be from the posh bit of the Black Country – Stourbridge!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh ar, they all require & indeed have them, they’re like grandchildren, your happy to see them but equally pleased to see them go. I suspect both sets of fans will be unanimous that it was one of the worst games they’ve sat through, I think Brucey said something similar. 0 attempts on goal in a derby game that you have 2 weeks to prepare for asks some serious questions from top to bottom.

        Well we do have a Waitrose, so I guess that does make us some bit posh…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for including the link to Ian’s blog, Beermat, although I’m sad to see just one pub listed for the whole of Kent, and none at all for Sussex.

    Back in the day when I worked in Tonbridge, as opposed to just living in the town, the Man of Kent (which I visited with Martin, about four years ago), used to serve a cracking pint of Draught Bass, but alas, no more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Paul. It’s a real shame that the drink has been virtually ignored by the company that owns it and only a few pockets remain….I believe your karaoke version of Mott The Hoople was even better than the Bass back in the day!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fortunately Beermat, the Mott The Hoople karaoke video only exists in Martin’s over-vivid imagination, but it is a real shame that AmBev, or whatever they call themselves these days, have totally side-lined Draught Bass.

        I worked for Bass, for a short while during my youth, and ignoring the brand that the company’s reputation was built on, just wouldn’t have happened!

        I’m not sure where I will be on Easter Saturday, but I shall keep an eye out for some Draught Bass, even though it’s as rare as hen’s teeth in these parts.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Morning Beermat, Wolves and Blues both winning their respective derbies means that we can collectively gloat for one week only – and I’m definitely in favour of the ‘Shroosbury’ pronunciation too regardless of any pukka/posh status. The Cross Foxes is an excellent old-fashioned haunt well worth the walk t’other side of the river – I try to combine it with the Prince of Wales for a real treat. Love the old Bass branding! Cheers, Paul

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Exciting times Beermat but my level of anticipation of these two dedicated days can not surely be matched by that, I’m assuming, of one of the founder members of Midlands legends Judas Priest namely Ian ‘Skull’ Hill. Not only does he qualify for the one day by means of his name (his real one not his somewhat scary moniker) he qualifies for the other because he plays Bass……oh, right, not that kind of Bass?!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment