Littleover Sizzler To Rival Spoons

I know that Stonegate are rivalling Wetherspoons for that early morning crowd now that they’ve got CAMRA vouchers, but don’t rule out Mitchells & Butlers either.

In particular, their Sizzling pub chain is a definite player in that corner of the market.  By that I mean early opening (usually 9am), cask ale, food and very much putting itself forward as a ‘locals’ boozer.

Argosy 02.08.19  (14).jpg

However, where it differs to spoons is that it usually has Sky/BT Sports on a big screen and whilst that might put a few off it also drags a few more in along with a dart board and pool table.

Argosy 02.08.19  (4).jpg

My previous visits to Sizzling boozers have seen some absolute classics of the type and proper pubbery of the highest order in Shirley, Alvaston and Castle Vale.

I’m not sure if they’ve made it to the pinnacle of CAMRA vouchers just yet, although they don’t tend to have as much cask on, but price wise it isn’t hugely different.

So, I knew what to expect when I popped into 464 – The Argosy DE22 3HZ in Littleover a couple of weeks ago.  It’s past the main shopping centre in Littleover, which has the very good Half Moon but not tucked away on the estate like The Oaklands.

Argosy 02.08.19  (17).jpg

Littleover like it’s close neighbour Mickleover, is a big Derby  suburb with planning  permission galore to get even bigger.

It was  chilled out early afternoon time during the first Ashes test when England weren’t under the cosh (one of the few days so far) and the place was reasonably full with people eating, drinking, working on their laptops or generally chatting in the background.

Argosy 02.08.19  (10).jpg

The barman was working overtime but doing it with a smile and he appeared to know most of the punters and managed to flat bat a blaggard perfectly.

A woman came in and claimed she had lost some money the ‘grab machine’ you know, the one where you try and grab a soft teddy etc…

The barman said he was happy to help her get her cash back but she’d need to fill in a form with her name and address on.

Argosy 02.08.19  (19).jpg

She scarpered fairly quickly shouting “I only wanted to get a toy for my little girl.”  I later found her spread-eagled outside with her male mate smoking roll ups sitting on the pavement, apparently without any kids in tow!

(just to the left of this sign!)

Argosy 02.08.19  (16).jpg

All part of pub life though and a Welsh bloke in there gave the perfect description of how cricket works and what a great game it is to a couple who were clearly watching it for the first time and trying to fathom out the intricacies of it all.

Argosy 02.08.19  (2).jpg

To be honest the Wainwrights (Thwaites) was a pretty average at best but you can play the cask ale lottery in the summer and maybe I should have plumped for the Keg M&B Mild.

Argosy 02.08.19  (11).jpg

Derby is one of the best pub cities in Britain but out of the centre you still need your local boozers and this big roadside pub is serving a lot of houses behind and a fair bit of Hi-Viz passing trade along with families eating etc.

Argosy 02.08.19  (6).jpg

M&B still own a lot of pubs in various guises, Ember Inns being another on their roster, and the Sizzling brand is definitely here to stay.  A better version of GK’s Hungry Horse chain I reckon and judging by the amount of people in here, one that is happy to keep ticking over.

 

9 thoughts on “Littleover Sizzler To Rival Spoons

  1. The Sizzling brand may well be here to stay, I haven’t (knowingly) been in one and don’t intend to , the model obviously works for many but does nothing for me, along with Stonegate and Spoons, although I have to put my hands up and say on occasion I do visit a Spoons purely out of convenience. I guess I’m a pub snob as well as a beer snob.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely nothing wrong with that! Yo be fair I was in belper today and knew I could have one pint so deliberately chose a smart pub with s good craft and cask selection….if I’m out with a group of pals I’ll go anywhere but do like a good pint

      Like

      1. A quick search tells me there are 20 M&B outlets (not boozers 😉 ) of all brands, within a 20 mile radius of me, I’ve been in 10, either for ticking purposes or other reasons, this includes Toby Carverys , not what I would call a pub experience and wasn’t intended to be.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “However, where it differs to spoons is that it usually has Sky/BT Sports on a big screen and whilst that might put a few off it also drags a few more in ”

    Nowt wrong with similar, but slightly different, choices. 🙂

    “and managed to flat bat a blaggard perfectly.”

    From context, I think I understand that.

    “apparently without any kids in tow!”

    Sadly, she had to sell them in order to pay for the roll ups… since she couldn’t finagle any cash in the grab machine scam. 😉

    “gave the perfect description of how cricket works and what a great game it is to a couple who were clearly watching it for the first time and trying to fathom out the intricacies of it all.”

    You can do that for me if I’m ever over there. 🙂

    “but out of the centre you still need your local boozers ”

    Hear, hear.

    “one that is happy to keep ticking over”

    As you mentioned earlier, the barman seemed to know most of the punters; ergo, local boozer, of which there is a need outside of ‘touristy’ areas. 🙂

    Cheers

    PS – “Littleover like it’s close neighbour ”

    Lose the apostrophe. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment