Be Nice…We’re Tripping In Nottingham

Wetting the baby’s head on a Tuesday afternoon?  In these ‘unprecedented times’ where there has been an ‘exponential rise’ in pubs being shut then ‘the new normal’ is Tuesday lunchtime celebrations.

I think the phrase anything goes is probably more apt and now the shackles are off it is great to see the people of the Midlands embracing pub openings in their masses.

Having spent yesterday in Derbyshire then under the #visitapubadayforaweek ruling, it was a great opportunity to pop into Nottinghamshire and a classic boozer.

612 – Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem NG1 6AD was the pub of choice for the dad who, by rather good fortune for the other two members of the party, was happy to be designated driver and let us sample the local delights!

I think this is the first time I’ve ever booked into a boozer but, needs must, and convincing Mrs BB that this was an essential trip always looks more feasible with a table booking…

Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem is a pub that most bloggers will have been to but it’s still mightily impressive and even sitting outside is one of the best views of a city boozer.

It’s built into the rocks of Nottingham Castle and there are caves galore inside and underneath the pub whilst it claims to be the oldest inn in England (along with a few others I suspect) but there is no doubting its history.

It’s Grade II listed and the first recorded landlord in 1760 was William Marriott whilst the current incumbent Karl Gibson, is nine years into his rein

and it looks like it will be hosting drinkers for a few hundred years more if this afternoon was anything to go by.

One of my pals negotiated with the barmaid who said we had a seat in the shade by the road but, once he had been round the houses, he persuaded her to put us in the sun. It was classic pub shenanigans/being a blaggard in order to get our way.

The atmosphere was crackling as lots of tables were taken with glasses raised at least three times to celebrate the arrival of a baby boy eight weeks ago!

(Stafford Paul’s front room)

Legend and EPA (Nottingham Brewery) were on top form whilst Gammon, egg and chips proved a good sideline as my first pub chat with pals post lockdown ensued…

Again, a good mix of society were in and I even saw ‘young people in a pub shocker‘ as a couple of groups of early twentysomethings were in (out) and enjoying themselves. This doesn’t fit with the national narrative of all youngsters house partying – surely national media outlets haven’t got it wrong…

(these weren’t the youngest punters!)

However, that didn’t stop one bloke from being a bit of a numpty as he arrived with his son on a bike for two and when he was told he had to book he shouted loudly “there’s loads of empty tables. Why can’t I have a quiet pint?”

His point might have been valid but the barmaid was top notch all afternoon and the adage is…Be Nice!   It’s not her fault you don’t like the rules and there are other boozers you can stroll into for a pint…

To make matters worse his bike had a bit of a wobble as he pedalled off still chuntering and everyone else had a chuckle and subsequently breathed a sigh of relief.

It’s not perfect but moaning at bar staff who are just following rules isn’t going to help.  However, that interlude aside, it was a marvellous afternoon of head-wetting and I think it is important these sessions traditions are maintained in constantly evolving times.

With five days off till I go back to work I will be trying my hardest to convince Mrs BB of more reasons to go the pub every day – all ideas welcome!

14 thoughts on “Be Nice…We’re Tripping In Nottingham

  1. “I think the phrase anything goes is probably more apt”

    Absolutely!

    Though, in my case, it’s partly due to my darling wife being away (for weeks!). I was out and back home this morning before 8am to get the paint for my ‘bloke’ painting the interior of my man shed/pub today so I threw caution to the wind and opened my first beer before 11am. 🙂

    “I think the phrase anything goes is probably more apt”

    Gods! That brings back memories. Was there one night in 1981. Had to put my hand over my pint to stop the ceiling chalk from getting into my beer! Glorious!

    ” by rather good fortune for the other two members of the party, was happy to be designated driver and let us sample the local delights!”

    Magnanimous indeed! Was it for a Christening? (you mentioned wetting the baby’s head)

    “and convincing Mrs BB that this was an essential trip always looks more feasible with a table booking…”

    Devious. 🙂

    But, totally agree… although Martin might beg to differ. 🙂

    “whilst it claims to be the oldest inn in England (along with a few others I suspect)”

    Yep. 🙂

    “and the first recorded landlord in 1760 was William Marriott”

    Who started the Marriott chain of hotels? (LOL)

    “and it looks like it will be hosting drinkers for a few hundred years more if this afternoon was anything to go by.”

    I should bloody hope so!

    “It was classic pub shenanigans/being a blaggard in order to get our way.”

    (guffaw) And well done him!

    “with glasses raised at least three times to celebrate the arrival of a baby boy eight weeks ago!”

    I was right! And, congrats!
    (I shall pour another beer) 🙂

    “(Stafford Paul’s front room)”

    I take it the extra Plum Porter clip is for Martin? 😉

    “Legend and EPA (Nottingham Brewery) were on top form whilst Gammon, egg and chips proved a good sideline as my first pub chat with pals post lockdown ensued…”

    Glorious.

    “surely national media outlets haven’t got it wrong…”

    (slow golf clap)

    “It’s not her fault you don’t like the rules and there are other boozers you can stroll into for a pint…”

    True dat. And good thing you booked!

    “and I think it is important these (sessions) traditions are maintained in constantly evolving times.”

    Agreed. And have one for me sometime this week. 🙂

    “With five days off till I go back to work I will be trying my hardest to convince Mrs BB of more reasons to go the pub every day – all ideas welcome!”

    See above! You need to have one for me! 🙂

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I shall have one for you Russ, just one you understand 😃 yes I often find Mrs BB has to agree to a pub visit if it is (a) booked and (b) a ‘valid’ reason such as wetting the baby’s head!
      Good to receive a slow golf clap two posts in… standards are on the rise!!

      Like

  2. I haven’t been to ‘The Trip’ in many years and never even thought about it having a beer garden! I usually walk straight past it and into the inviting caves! Good to see it going strong!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Great to hear from you again Dave 👍 I will be writing to Greene King asking them to ensure all staff at this boozer wear lederhosen moving forward! Shouldn’t be a problem in the centre of Nottingham 😉

        Like

  3. We usually like to sit out on those seats under the trees as well. Beer is not always our favourites but usually pretty good.
    It is on the list for this weekend as it’s pretty well organised and the staff have been great when it has been open during this tricky time.
    Sounds like you had a great time and those pictures have me gagging for a pint up there right now!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We usually hope for some Shipstones beer and it’s kind of 50:50 if they have it. Let’s be honest though they have beer and we can now drink it at the pub so not going to be difficult about it lol 😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment