Duke, Duke, Duke, Duke of Earl

Hands up if you remember this hit from seventies beat combo The Darts? No? Okay then let’s move on!

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (16)

I was keeping some of these pubs up my sleeve to write about ‘post corona’ but I need some fresh pub tales, as it feels like it’s been ages since I last visited a pub.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (15)

Yes, I’m having a drink at home to support local breweries etc but nothing beats going to a pub.

I’m not sure if anyone is still reading this blog as it’s gone into self-isolation for a fortnight but it’s time to return and bring you a bona fide new pub.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (3)

Although, just to make sure no one thinks it’s flouting the lockdown this was visited on a Thursday night in February and it’s definitely shut down at present.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (11)

553 – Duke of Clarence DE1 3QZ is on the Mansfield Road in the Chester Green area of Derby and a local on the outskirts of the city.

(lacings and Hi-Viz jackets…what more do you need?)

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (6)

I went in there with one of my ankle biters and there were plenty of nods and hellos from the six other punters in there and the box was on the background whilst the landlady gave us a warm welcome.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (7)

I’m not sure how long she’s been in charge but it had the gloriously cluttered feel of a place that knows its audience and is almost like a front room.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (4)

A terrific pint of Specked Hen (Morland) was order of the day and the world ticked by with pub chat.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (12)

It looked like this was a pub that probably has a darts and pool team as there are plenty of chimney pots and industry nearby to ensure it has a good core of locals.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (14)

Look, I haven’t got a lot more to say other than this is a free house I sincerely hope is able to reopen when normality finally returns to the glorious pub industry.

Duke of Clarence Feb 2020 (1)

I’ll definitely be returning to the Duke of Clarence along with every other boozer in Derby to make up for lost time!!!

15 thoughts on “Duke, Duke, Duke, Duke of Earl

      1. A not unexpected midweek afternoon miss. The Peacock never lets us down though. The Coach & Horses is the only pub in Derby with a skittle alley.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Sounds like a proper pub – but it would be so much improved by Bass and Pedi! 😀

    I also like buildings where part has three storeys, and part only two.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment