Blitzkreig Bop

Always stick a punk title at the top of your blog to entice in Duncan and BRAPA and in true LifeAfterFootball fashion it is the loosest of links.

A debut in East Leake, and in case you’re wondering there is a West Leake (steady on Russ) and it’s in the hinterlands between Kegworth and Wymeswold with an LE postcode  but firmly in Nottinghamshire.

Dave will of course be lost at this moment so I’d better stick a map up for one of my (only) top 3 North American readers…

621 – Nags Head LE12 6PG on the main drag through the village had just opened when I arrived after 2 so I was the first customer and greeted by the gaffer in a Ramones T-Shirt.

I then saw the beer board and noted that Bass was on and to be honest, I could (and probably should I hear you add) stop the post right here.

This was the first time post lockdown that I was the only punter in a pub and he said that as it was the first of the day he’d have to pull some through the pipes first so would I mind waiting…?  What a gent!  Who minds waiting for Bass?

 To top off the mood Blitzkreig Bop came on from the jukebox inside the boozer (being controlled remotely by the gaffer) and I started rolling back the years.

(proper hanging baskets)

Back in 1986, one of my older sister’s then boyfriend offered to take me to the Birmingham Odeon to watch the Ramones and it was an education to say the least for a 15-year-old….

Amazing what you can find on the ZX81 these days and I’ve uncovered a set list from that gig and Pinhead, Cretin Hop and Surfin’ Bird amongst others were all on show.

Not that I knew of course and in true Ramones fashion the signal of a new song was 1-2-3-4 and then the same chords – absolute genius!!

 Chatting with the Gaffer and he said it was a music pub with an open mic night and a jukebox as well as bands and I looked at the stage area…perfect for a sweaty gig and hopefully we’ll be seeing a few of those again.

There had only been one washout day (Bank Holiday) and trade had been excellent but he wanted people back inside.  Even his bar staff said they were missing working behind the bar as opposed to table service as he confirmed the interaction just isn’t the same.

He also said it was the first time he’d had Bass on in five years!!!! Clearly, news had reached them via the pub blogging grapevine that I was coming and they put on the Ramones and Bass for my benefit.

We discussed the various merits of Bass and whether it was now classed as an Amber Ale (apologies for those of you who didn’t want to tune into a beer bore blog) and then I realised it matters not one jot as it was wet and quaffable.

He said Doom Bar was on order for Martin for next week (this may not be true of course) and we just took in the rare rays of sunshine at a good solid village boozer.

ELO’s Mr Blue Sky was threatening to come on the jukebox as the intro came on about four times, which might have tempted Tamworth Mark to rattle up the M42 and listen to the unofficial anthem of Birmingham City.

A stack of beers to cover the range from Mudgie to Citra and another good pub counting down the days to May 17th….

24 thoughts on “Blitzkreig Bop

  1. “and in true LifeAfterFootball fashion it is the loosest of links”

    So it wasn’t bombed by the Luftwaffe then?

    “A debut in East Leake, and in case you’re wondering there is a West Leake (steady on Russ)”

    Pfft. I know all about east and west leaks. Mind you, that could either be the cardinal direction one if facing or which way you point your Johnson doing your business. 😉

    “Dave will of course be lost at this moment ”

    He’s not the only one!

    “so I’d better stick a map up”

    I see Batman lives nearby. And I’m beginning to see why the upper crust over there have long winded last names (e.g. Normanton on the Wolds, Barton in Fabis etc.).

    “and greeted by the gaffer in a Ramones T-Shirt.”

    Isn’t he supposed to have an apron on or something?

    “I then saw the beer board and noted that Bass was on”

    Teasing Martin again I see. 🙂

    “and to be honest, I could (and probably should I hear you add) stop the post right here.”

    (slow golf clap)

    ” To top off the mood Blitzkreig Bop came on from the jukebox inside the boozer (being controlled remotely by the gaffer) and I started rolling back the years.”

    Looked it up on YouTube. Very familiar! And good! But never knew that was the title. 🙂

    “(proper hanging baskets)”

    (guffaw)

    “and it was an education to say the least for a 15-year-old….”

    Indeed!

    “Amazing what you can find on the ZX81 these days ”

    ZX81? Back in MY day it was just the plain old ZX80. 🙂

    “and in true Ramones fashion the signal of a new song was 1-2-3-4 and then the same chords – absolute genius!!”

    LOL. One would be hard pressed to guess their songs merely from the first few chords. 😉

    “Even his bar staff said they were missing working behind the bar as opposed to table service as he confirmed the interaction just isn’t the same.”

    Sigh.

    “Clearly, news had reached them via the pub blogging grapevine that I was coming and they put on the Ramones and Bass for my benefit.”

    Or they knew it would annoy Martin. 🙂

    “He said Doom Bar was on order for Martin for next week (this may not be true of course)”

    (slow golf clap)

    “A stack of beers to cover the range from Mudgie to Citra and another good pub counting down the days to May 17th….”

    And, on the Beer Board, it does indeed NOT mention the style for Bass! 🙂

    Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

      1. “Russ requires an A514 map at least once a month as part of his sponsorship deal”

        (slow golf clap)

        That made me laugh! 🙂

        Cheers

        Liked by 1 person

      2. “I’m still waiting for this month’s lump sum Russ!!! Lawyers will be in touch”

        The cheque is in the mail! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. BB, spot on, the unofficial anthem of Birmingham City and coincidentally my first ever single. Apologies to any younger readers who are undoubtedly currently Googling the word single !!

    BTW Do you remember the Macc Lads version of Blitzkreig Bop called (quite appropriately) Eh up, let’s sup?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luckily you and I are the youngest two on here so it will be the Johnny Mathis fans who are googling ELO as some young beat combo from Brum!
      I’ve not heard that one but will check it out as like a bit of Macc Lads….

      Like

Leave a comment