Bringing Up The Half Century In Lenton

It’s been a while since I last blogged and with Wayne Rooney now in charge of the Blues then it’s my chance to cash in on the USA market and catapult my readership to potentially double figures.

With Russ still in the Rockies, then it is up to Dick and Dave to keep on banging the drum for Tom Brady’s favourite socca team.

With the former coach of Washington DCFC at the helm, a few Blues lines alongside some Midlands pubs should send this blog into the same stratosphere as Martin, Paul and Duncan’s – or at least Tamworth Mark’s!

Anyway, enough of this and back to the business of boozers and it was high time I brought up my half century in Nottinghamshire.

I’d visited 49 pubs in the late Alan Winfield’s home county and a place where the Greene King brand is really admired (that bit might not be true).

But, despite that, there are more than a few GK pubs plying their trade and my half century was reached with their Flaming Grill chain and the 844 – Rose & Crown NG7 2GW in Lenton.

Fellow blogger Nick, who is also a Forest fan, confirmed that many of his posts, like mine, are months out of date and the tell tale sign is the football on the big screen.

I popped in for a pint on a Tuesday night and the place was packed with a great mix of punters. The football – Manchester City were 1-0 down against Red Star Belgrade when I left – seemed to be the main reason as people had positioned their chairs to watch the football.

There was a dartboard (in use) and a pool table (in use) and it felt like a real ‘proper pub’ as there were people of all ages and a bustling atmosphere.

I also had a very decent pint of IPA (Greene King) for less than £3, which is a bargain, and said I liked it, which caused a minor Twitter/X pile on

Granted, it’s not really an IPA but as BBB’s go, it does the job and this was in good nick.  Anyway a great local pub and  students/Tuesday night five a side football groups were out in force.

Another GK brand is the “Pub & Grill” chain which was my next port of call on a Saturday night around half seven.

845 – The Nurseryman NG9 3AE is a big roadside pub on the A52 that has been there since 1956 apparently so, well established. 

There’s a fair few chimney pots on the roads behind this and it was better than it looked.  Plenty of punters and families just drinking as well as eating with tunes in the background. 

There was steady trade and I had a good conversation with the barman as there was a selection of beers on…he said when the lads from Nottingham Brewery come in for a sesh they tend to drink EPA (Nottingham Brewery) so I took his word for it.

£4.30 isn’t unreasonable these days I guess and a pub that has been around for nearly 70 years looks set continue for a few more yet.

Not sure either of these places will tempt over big spending Americans like Dick and Dave Tom Brady but the fact that Wayne Rooney is based less than 100 miles away in the Midlands is a loose enough link for this blog!

8 thoughts on “Bringing Up The Half Century In Lenton

    1. That’s a magnanimous gesture from a blue!!! I also hope he’s a success as I’m not sure how many more projects I can live through!!!
      Yes, less than £3 – a good atmosphere and the pint was decent…not sure what people want!

      Like

  1. An interesting read.
    Firstly, “half century” is how long I’ve lived in Stafford now.
    Secondly, I could disagree with “it’s not really an IPA” as IPAs have been about 3½% for longer than the 7% they before the First World War.
    Thirdly, I’ve been in that Nurseryman a few times with Mrs and Miss Mudge when it was a Hardy’s and Hanson’s pub, that’s with it being on the direct route to or from Nottingham by road. I prefer the Bass, the Brunswick and the Alex by rail but they don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. (a) – a good effort on drinking in every Stafford pub over the past five decades!
      (b) I actually quite like it as a pint but there are clearly a lot of people out there who don’t and were adamant it wasn’t an IPA
      (c) Ha!! Yes, Mrs BB would definitely prefer the Nurseryman, which isn’t necessary a seal of approval!

      Like

  2. I use the Rose & Crown to get a second breakfast after having to leave home at 0530 for early morning appointments at the Queen’s Medical Centre. GK’s IPA is strong enough at 1030 to accompany a full English. There’s always a queue out of the door when it opens, probably the result of all the local construction workers also partaking of a late/second breakfast.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the Notts half century BB certainly worth of a smattering of applause from the members area and maybe a whoop or high five from your new American subscribers!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment